American Heart Association

About Us

For nearly 100 years, we've been fighting heart disease and stroke, striving to save and improve lives.

woman enjoying AHA event

The six cardiologists who founded the American Heart Association in 1924 would be amazed.

From humble beginnings, the AHA has grown into the nation’s oldest and largest voluntary organization dedicated to fighting heart disease and stroke. A shared focus on cardiovascular health unites our more than 33 million volunteers and supporters as well as our more than 3,400 employees. Learn more about our impact over time.

Heart disease is the No. 1 killer worldwide, and stroke ranks second globally. Even when those conditions don’t result in death, they cause disability and diminish quality of life. We want to see a world free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke.

Our size and scope let us have real impact. We have invested more than $4.1 billion in research, more than any U.S. nonprofit organization. Learn more about our life-changing funded research breakthroughs.

Our Mission

To be a relentless force for a world of longer, healthier lives.


The American Stroke Association is a division of the American Heart Association. The ASA amplifies our efforts to educate people about stroke prevention and treatment.

American Stroke Association logo
Nancy Brown

Chief Executive Officer

Watch a message from Nancy



We foster scientific breakthroughs that matter. Our financial support has aided in the development of the first artificial heart valve, cholesterol-lowering drugs, heart transplantation and CPR techniques.

Learn more about our funded research breakthroughs.

Our 2020 Vision

By 2020, we aim to improve the cardiovascular health of all Americans by 20 percent — and to reduce deaths from cardiovascular diseases and stroke by 20 percent.

Learn More About Our 2020 Vision(link opens in new window)

Join the effort

The AHA makes a positive impact on lives from our offices around America and the world. Join the millions who are making a difference.

Volunteer(link opens in new window)
Work for the AHA

Our lifesaving efforts at work

Our focus on health takes many forms. If there’s an unmet need when it comes to heart disease and stroke, the AHA is there. Here are some examples:

Diversity and Inclusion
CEO Roundtable(link opens in new window)
International Programs