Teaching Gardens Network Grant Program

Teaching Gardens Network Grant Program

The American Heart Association Teaching Gardens Network Grant program is now open and accepting applications to support school gardens for the 2019-2020 school year! 

The Teaching Gardens Network Grants are made possible by the ongoing commitment of Kelly Meyer, founder of OneSun Fund, and Gail Becker, CEO of Caulipower, who are both dedicated to educating children about nutrition, while appreciating the benefit of eating healthy. 

How you can participate: 

The American Heart Association is seeking schools and educational facilities that are working to connect children to the garden, supporting health, nutrition, and environmental stewardship. Through this grant program, we hope to build strong communities who commit to growing healthy kids. Program elements include building, growing and maintaining a garden, providing a hands-on learning experience, and teaching students about healthy eating and gardening via an interactive cross-curricular, standards-based gardening and nutrition education curriculum.

The Teaching Garden Network Grants are intended to:

  • Connect children and families with the food system and healthy foods.
  • Educate children and communities about the importance of healthy environmental practices and encouraging them to make changes to improve their health.
  • Help to create a sense of responsibility and teamwork by building connections in the community, centered in health, nutrition and the environment.

Use of Funds

Grant funds may be used for direct expenses associated with your school’s garden project that will help children engage with fresh fruits and vegetables, such as: garden beds, tools, plants, compost bins, irrigation, water collection, storage sheds. 

Funds may not be used for:

  • Salary or contract services
  • General operating expenses
  • Travel/Field Trips
  • Continuing education for teachers and staff
  • Sponsorship of fundraising events
  • Promotional items such as t-shirts, flyers, etc.

Grant Application Information

Grants will be awarded with the value of $2500 to support new or established school garden programs. All information must be submitted electronically.  

Timeline:

  • Grant opens: September 3, 2019
  • Grant deadline: October 11th at 5pm EST (2pm PST, 3pm MST, 4pm CST)
  • Grant Notification:  Winter 2019
  • Reporting period:  May 31, 2020 and November 30, 2020