Mission: Lifeline for Receiving Hospitals

Updated:Apr 7,2017

Mission: Lifeline
® STEMI Systems of Care

Mission: Lifeline® STEMI Systems of Care Implementation goals:

  • Coordination of care between EMS agencies and destination hospitals
  • Regionalize STEMI care
  • Regional Pre-Hospital Activation Protocol 
  • Regional Destination Protocol
  • Regional Transfer for PCI Protocol
  • Minimize system delays in care
  • Improve time to definitive reperfusion
  • Decrease total cardiac ischemic time
  • Provide evidence based STEMI care within the recommended AHA/ACC guidelines
Mission: Lifeline® STEMI Systems of Care Implementation strategically utilizes local resources as they are available.

The following 4 categories of Mission: Lifeline® hospitals have coordinated and specific roles and actions necessary to maximize process improvement and care coordination of the STEMI patient:
  1. 24/7 Primary PCI Hospital
  2. 24/7 STEMI Referring Center
  3. Dual Strategy Hospital (Offers some PPCI)
  4. Critical Access Hospitals
Mission: Lifeline® STEMI Recognition
Mission: Lifeline® STEMI Recognition has celebrated hospitals improving the STEMI System of Care since 2010 utilizing the following measures:
When a hospital is awarded a Mission: Lifeline® Recognition level, the celebration continues through
  • Exceptional media/marketing kits and materials to promote this great success 
  • Gold and Silver Award recipients are honored at the American Heart Association's Scientific Sessions and are included in a congratulatory ad in the "Best Hospitals" edition of US News & World Report
Mission: Lifeline® STEMI Receiving Center Recognition Measures and Criteria
Mission: Lifeline® STEMI Referring Center Recognition Measures and Criteria 

Mission: Lifeline® STEMI Accreditation 

American Heart Association's Mission: Lifeline® STEMI Accreditation

The American Heart Association has partnered with the Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care (formerly Society of Chest Pain Centers) to offer accreditation to Mission: Lifeline® hospitals. A Mission: Lifeline® Heart Attack Receiving Center STEMI Accreditation identifies hospitals that meet treatment criteria. Accreditation denotes the highest level of care. Hospitals that earn accreditation have the unique opportunity to display the Heart-Check mark, a symbol millions of Americans know and trust. Learn more about Mission: Lifeline® Heart Attack Receiving Center STEMI Accreditation here

Get Started Today 
You are eligible to participate no matter where you are located in the U.S. and Puerto Rico.  

  1. Contact your local American Heart Association representative.
  2. Join the Mission: Lifeline® Network to connect with other participating organizations.