Metropolitan Chicago Board of Directors

We gratefully acknowledge these dedicated volunteers who serve on the Metropolitan Chicago American Heart Association Board of Directors.These dedicated volunteers are healthcare professionals and business and community leaders who guide our many activities throughout the Greater Chicago area. 

The Metropolitan Chicago Board of Directors of the American Heart Association was recognized by the American Heart Association National Board for being one of the top local boards in the country with the prestigious AHA Gold designation for excellence.

Board Leadership

Board President
Brad Marino, MD, MPP, MSCE
Divisions of Cardiology and Critical Care Medicine 
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

Board Chairman
Opella Ernest, MD
Chief Clinical Officer
Health Care Services Corporation

Board Membership

Jennifer M. Bell
Regional Managing Director

Kimberly Bors
SVP, Human Resources – CHRO
The Mosaic Company

Mercedes Carnethon, PhD
Mary Harris Thompson Professor and Vice Chair, Department of Preventive Medicine 
Feinberg School of Medicine
Northwestern University

Michael J. Dandorph 
Rush University Medical Center 

Virginia Friesen
Vice President, Heart Institute
Advocate Aurora Health Care

Jason Keeler
Executive Vice President and Chief Operating Officer
University of Chicago Medicine

Ranndy Kellogg

Cathy Kenworthy
Founder and CEO, Health Hippo

Sharon Langshur
Chief Operating Officer
Abundant Venture Partners

Karen Larimer, PhD, ACNP-BC, FAHA 
Director, Clinical Development

Robert Litt

Donald Lloyd-Jones, MD SCM
Chairman, Department of Preventive Medicine
Northwestern University Feinberg School of Medicine

Fawn Lopez
Modern Healthcare/Modern Physician

Angela Odoms-Young, PhD
Associate Director, UIC Chicago Partnership for Health Promotion
Office of Community Engagement and Neighborhood Health Partnerships
University of Illinois Hospital and Health Sciences System

Jeffrey Raider
President, National Middle Market Banking

Michael Rakotz, MD, FAHA
Vice President, Chronic Disease Prevention
American Medical Association

Diane Ratekin

General Counsel 
Huron Consulting

Dr. Chet Robson, DO, MHCDS, FAAFP

Chief Medical Officer

Joan Rubschlager
Former Owner
Rubschlager Bakery

Kerrin Slattery
McDermott Will & Emery LLP

Sarah Song, MD, MPH
Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology
Rush University Medical Center

Active Leadership Development Committee

Gail Hasbrouck, Esq.
Board Member
Audit and Compliance Committee Member 
Advocate Aurora Health

Jeff Malehorn

Former President & CEO
World Business Chicago

Andrew Rauh, MD

DuPage Medical Group

Annabelle Volgman, MD

Medical Director, Rush Heart Center for Women
Professor of Medicine
Rush University Medical Center

Clyde W. Yancy, MD, MSC, FACC, FAHA, MACP
Chief, Division of Cardiology
Northwestern Medical Faculty Foundation

Associate Board of Chicago

Board President
John Wilkins, MD
Northwestern Medicine

Board Chair
Kathryn Bors
SC Johnson

Sarah Alexander, MD
Community Care Network

Dezimon Alicea
Sayles Creative Studios

Kristin Barrie

Elizabeth Buckton
BMO Wealth Management

Cassandra Christian

Darcelle Dieudonne
Ashfield Healthcare Communications

Peter Duveneck

Mike Edeke
CVS Health

Taylor Freking
SMS Assist

Mark Gill
West Monroe Partners

Eric Gronroos
Baker Tilly Virchow Krause

Ashley Harvey
B Swift

Ciera Hester-Smith
Midwest Orthopedics at Rush

Josef Hobdy
AMITA Health

Megan Johnson

Katie Kruse

Gabriel Martin
PNC Bank

Tiara Muse
Furst Group

Heather Niziolek
American Association of Endodontists

Pieter Norden, PhD
Northwestern University

Amy Norden

Marcus Paschall
University of Chicago Medicine

Jaclyn Reider, APRN-NP
Ann & Robert H. Lurie Children’s Hospital of Chicago

Samuel Rene
Air National Guard-Active Guard

Szymon Ryzner

Arielle Schwartz
DiMeo Schneider & Associates

Logan Timmons
BMO Harris Bank

Kendall Valenstein
FCB Chicago

Tim Wombacher
Cardiac Surgery Associates

Sarah Zielinski
McGuire Woods LLP