Indianapolis Board of Directors

We gratefully acknowledge these dedicated volunteers who serve on the Indianapolis American Heart Association Board of Directors.
These dedicated volunteers are healthcare professionals and business and community leaders who guide our many activities throughout the Greater Indianapolis area.

The Indianapolis Metropolitan Board of Directors of the American Heart Association was recognized by the American Heart Association National Board for being one of the top local boards in the country with the prestigious AHA Silver designation for excellence. 


Marc W. Gerdisch, MD, FACS, FACC

Chief of Cardiovascular & Thoracic Surgery
Cardiac Surgery Associates, Franciscan Heart Center

Kathy Krusie, MA, FACHE

SVP, Community Physician Network Operations
Community Health Network

William J. Gill, MD

Medical Director Cardiovascular Services, IU Health West Hospital
IU Health Physicians

Shawn Smith, Ph.D

Metropolitan School District of Lawrence Township

Leadership Development Chair
Jim England

RE: Media & Marketing


Anthony D. Altavilla
RedStone Communications, LLC

Monte Curnutt
Roche Diagnostics
Immediate Past Chair

Mark C. Jacob
Vice President, Capital Programs & Engineering / Quality
Citizens Energy Group

Philip G. Kenney
F.A. Wilhelm Construction

Moises Lopez
Vice President, Business Banking Sales Manager
Salin Bank

Jonathan Sundheimer, JD
Barnes & Thornburg LLP

Midwest Affiliate Board Member

Dan Krajnovich


Lifetime Board Members

Michael Ball, MD
St.Vincent Medical Group

Ruth Rench, MS, RN, SCRN, ANVP, FAHA
Genentech, Inc.

Leadership Council

Andrew B. Buroker, Esq.
Faegre Baker Daniels LLP

Jeffrey Hilburn
Bill McConnell

Mark R. Owens
Barnes & Thornburg,  LLP

Jerry Smartt Jr, MD
Smartt Neurology, PC

Go Red For Women 2019 Chair

Jennifer Zinn
Roche Diagnostics

2019 Executive Leadership Team Members

Dr. Virginia Caine, Marion County Public Health Department

Anita Capps, Community Health Network

Beth Cisco, Hendricks Regional Health

Maggie Daniels, Roche Diagnostics

Liz Drury, UnitedHealthcare

Liz Huldin, The Heritage Group

Pamela Hunt, Community Health Network

Nancy Martin, Fifth Third Bank

Shelley Meador, Allegion

Jennifer Mathews Miner, BMO Harris Bank

Karen Dace, IUPUI

Dr. Donald Sefcik, Marian University

Anne Smith, The Heritage Group

Courtney Sweeney, Roche Diagnostics

Heart & Stroke Ball 2019 Chair

Ersal Ozdemir
Indy Eleven & Keystone Construction and Keystone Realty Group

2019 Executive Leadership Team Members

Mark Bowell, Tesco

Randy Denney, Denney Excavating

Rachel Doba, DB Engineering

Mark C. Jacob, Citizens Energy Group

Al Gatmaitan, Indiana University Health

Josh Halon, RN, MSN, EDAC, BSA LifeStructures

Bob Kizer, BSN Sports

Jack Lashenik, PE, American Structurepoint

Jeff Laborsky, Heritage Environmental Services

Paul Okeson, Garmong Construction Services

2020 Chair

Mark C. Jacob
Citizens Energy Group

2021 Chair

Doug Bowen 
Bowen Engineering

Heart Walk 2019 Chair

Parveen Chand
IU Health Methodist & University Hospitals

2019 Executive Leadership Team Members

Bryan Hohne, J.D. Byrider

Kathy Krusie, Community Health Network

Monte Curnutt, Roche Diagnostics

Jonathan Sundheimer, Barnes & Thornburg 

Tony Altavilla, Redstone Communications, LLC


For more information on the Indianapolis Board of Directors: Wendy King, Executive Director