Programs That Help Outstanding Hospitals Stand Out

Updated:Aug 26,2013

Programs that help outstanding hospitals stand out
Accreditations and certifications identify hospitals that meet established standards for specific kinds of patient treatment including stroke, heart failure and heart attack. That makes them valuable information tools for patients who are weighing their healthcare options.
Patients are often unfamiliar with accreditations and certifications. They do, however, know and trust the American Heart Association’s Heart-Check mark as a symbol of healthy choices.
Now, the widely recognized Heart-Check mark is helping raise public awareness of key cardiovascular and stroke accreditations, thanks to collaborative efforts between the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association and two healthcare credentialing bodies, The Joint Commission (TJC) and the Society of Cardiovascular Patient Care (SCPC).
The collaborations have resulted in five accreditation and certification programs, each represented by a symbol that includes the well-known Heart-Check mark:
  • Advanced Certification in Heart Failure
  • Primary Stroke Center Certification
  • Comprehensive Stroke Center Certification
  • STEMI (Heart Attack) Receiving Center Accreditation
  • STEMI (Heart Attack) Referring Center Accreditation