Mission: Lifeline Mid-Atlantic Affiliate

Updated:Oct 26,2012

Mission Lifeline Logo

Each year, thousands of patients with ST-elevation myocardial infarction (STEMI) fail to receive critical reperfusion therapy for their infarct artery in a timely fashion. Even worse, nearly 30 percent of patients with STEMI do not receive any reperfusion treatment. 

Mission: Lifeline™ is the American Heart Association's national initiative to advance systems of care for STEMI patients. The initiative seeks to reduce mortality and morbidity and improve the overall quality of care for STEMI patients.

The ultimate goal of Mission: Lifeline™ is to save lives by closing the gaps that separate STEMI patients from timely access to the appropriate treatments.

What is STEMI?
STEMI is an abbreviation for ST-elevation myocardial infarction, a severe heart attack caused by a prolonged period of blocked blood supply that affects a large area of the heart. Almost 400,000 people suffer from a STEMI heart attack each year, which carries a substantial risk of death and disability.

 For more information or to become involved in Mission Lifeline activities, please contact:
 

North Carolina South Carolina 

John Costopoulos
Raleigh, NC
919-463-8316
john.costopoulos@heart.org

Harriet Buss
Raleigh, NC
919-463-8312
harriet.buss@heart.org

Lori Hollowell
Charleston, SC
843-853-1597
lori.hollowell@heart.org

Kristin Martinez
Greenville, SC
864-627-8044
kristin.martinez@heart.org

Maryland & DC
 

Virginia
 
 
Rhonda Ford Chatmon
Arlington, VA
703-248-1744
rhonda.chatmon@heart.org
 
 Keltcie Delamar
Glen Allen, VA
804-965-6571
keltcie.delamar@heart.org