American Stroke Association Regional Stroke Awards

Updated:Nov 8,2017

American Heart Association - American Stroke AssociationThe American Stroke Association, a division of the American Heart Association, realizes the importance of recognizing individuals that help further our mission of building healthier lives, free of cardiovascular diseases and stroke. Two awards are presented annually at The NorthEast Cerebrovascular Consortium (NECC) Annual Summit.
These two awards were formerly presented in the Boston area to local recipients. In 2012, The American Stroke Association has expanded these awards to include the Founders Affiliate eight state region of: Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island and Vermont.

The C. Miller Fisher, MD Neuroscience Visionary Award is given to an individual in the field of neuroscience, who has significantly contributed to the mission of the American Stroke Association and made clear and lasting contributions to neuroscience.  Contributions may focus on the identification and treatment of stroke patients including: basic research, epidemiology, prevention, pathogenesis, diagnosis and treatment, or other aspects of stroke. 
Past recipients of The C. Miller Fisher, MD Award
2016      Jonathan Rosand, MD, MSc
2015      Robert G. Holloway, MD, MPH
2014      Mitchell S. V. Elkind, MD, MS, FAAN, FAHA
2013      Steven R. Levine, MD
2012      J.P. Mohr, MS, MD
2011      Steven M. Greenberg, MD, PhD
2010      Michael P. Alexander, MD
2009      Lee H. Schwamm, MD,
2008      Daniel E. Singer, MD
2007      Christopher S. Ogilvy, MD
2006      Walter Koroshetz, MD
2005      Michael Moskowitz, MD
2004      Robert H. Ackerman, MD
2003      Marc Fisher, MD
2002      J. Philip Kistler, MD
2001      Carlos Kase, MD
2000      Philip A. Wolf, MD
1999      Robert G. Ojemann, MD
1998      Louis R. Caplan, MD
1997      Nicholas T. Zervas, MD
The American Stroke Association Community Conscience Award is given annually to an individual that has been an advocate for policy change supported by the American Heart Association/American Stroke Association to improve stroke systems of care including: prevention, treatment and rehabilitation for stroke patients within the northeast region. 
Past recipients of the American Stroke Association Community Conscience Award
(Prior to 2012, this award was known as the Helen B. Spaulding Community Conscience Award)

2016      Abate Mammo, PhD
2015      Mary G George, MD, MSPH, FACS, FAHA
2014      Arshad Iqbal, MD
2013      Anna Diane Colello, Esq
2012      Martin S. Gizzi, MD, PhD
2011      John Auerbach
2010      Kathleen M. Foell, RD, MS
2009      Margaret Kelly-Hayes, EdD, RN, FAAN, CRRN
2008      Janet Prvu Bettger, ScD
2007      Peter Moyer, MD
2006      Janet Wu
2005      Senator Mark Montigny
2004      Paul I. Dreyer, PhD
2003      Jerome Kaplan, MA, CCC-SLP
2002      Ray Driscoll
2001      Senator Edward Kennedy
2000      Boston EMS
1999      Henry P. Becton, Jr.
1998      Helen B. Spaulding
1997      Ira A. Jackson

American Stroke Association Awards

  • ASA Awards Recipients 2013
  • ASA Awards Recipients 2012
  • ASA Awards Recipients 2011 - CC Award
  • ASA Awards Recipients 2011 - C Miller Fisher Award

2011 C. Miller Fisher Neuroscience Visionary Award Recipient Stephen M. Greenberg, MD, PhD and Lee H. Schwamm, MD