Indianapolis Board Recognized for Excellence

Updated:Nov 14,2013

AHA-ASA logo colorINDIANAPOLIS – The American Heart Association’s Indianapolis Metropolitan Board of Directors was recently recognized by the American Heart Association National Board for being one of the top local boards in the country with the prestigious AHA Gold designation for excellence.

This is the first year that the Indianapolis board received Gold designation; last year the board received Silver designation. The American Heart Association identified and recognized best practices of its local boards and measured the subsequent impact in the community. The Indianapolis board was one of 22 AHA boards nationally to achieve a Gold designation by achieving 14 criteria in board operations, health activities and revenue.

“This initiative, part of the American Heart Association’s Vision for Volunteerism, was developed to help build strong boards to enhance health and revenue activities in the market, create a more dynamic, effective culture, generate more resources and most importantly, accelerate results toward the AHA’s 2020 Impact Goal,” said Kevin Harker, executive vice president of the 11-state Midwest Affiliate of the American Heart Association. “We are very proud of the volunteers and staff in Indianapolis who worked diligently to engage their board in volunteerism, revenue and health activities. This board truly stands out for its achievement.”

The Indianapolis board has engaged leaders of numerous corporations to join forces and make a health impact on their community. Together they are driving results toward the achievement of the association’s 2020 Impact Goal “to improve the cardiovascular health of all Americans by 20 percent while reducing deaths from cardiovascular diseases and stroke by 20 percent.”

Dan Krajnovich, CEO of UnitedHealthcare, and Art Coffey, Cardiothoracic Surgeon for IU Health, served as chair and president of the board during the year it earned Gold designation.

Other Indianapolis’ 2012-13 board members included:

Dr. Mark Jones, Indiana Heart Physicians
Jim England, J.D. Byrider Advertising Group
Tom Malasto, Community Heart & Vascular
Dr. Richard Feldman, Franciscan St Francis Health
Tom Blair, Fifth Third Bank
Cindy Adams, Community Health Network
Mary Baker, IU Health
Derek Bang, Crowe Horwath LLP
Andy Buroker, Krieg DeVault LLP
Monte Curnutt, Roche Diagnostics
Marco Dominguez, Finance Center Federal Credit Union
Dr. Marc Gerdisch, Cardiac Surgery Associates
Dr. Jeffrey Hilburn, Indiana Neuroscience Association
Pamela Hunt, Community Heart & Vascular
Bart Karwath, Barnes & Thornburg LLP
Keith Konkoli, Duke Realty
Dr. Michael Kourany, St.Vincent Medical Group
Dr. LeRoy LeNarz, Eli Lilly
Bill McConnell, IU Health
Aaron Reitz, KeyBank
Michael Schroyer, St.Vincent Heart Center of Indiana
Dr. Jerry Smartt, Smartt Neurology

More about the 2013-2014 Indianapolis Metropolitan Board